Map of different formats, colors, sizes, and resolutions of your choice. Call now +91-9999764565. Email us at

Pondicherry Map

Pondicherry Map  
*Map Showing Pondicherry Map



Formation Year:                 January 7, 1963

Location:                              South-East India

Capital:                                Pondicherry

Largest city:                       Pondicherry

Number of Districts:          4

 Area:                                   490 sq. km.

Population:                        1,383,727 (2011)

Sex Ratio:                             1037

Density:                               2,547/sq. km.

Literacy:                               85.85%

Official Languages:             Tamil, Malayalam,

                                              Telugu, French

Formerly known as Pondicherry, Puducherry is a Union Territory of India constituted of four different enclaves of former French India; however, its name is given after the largest territory, Pondicherry. The original name of this territory is ‘Putuccēri or ‘Pāṇṭiccēri,’ which is a Tamil word and its meaning is “New Town”. But after arrival of French, it became a French colony and its name is also transformed as French word ‘Pondicherry’. However, its official name changed again as “Puducherry” in 2006. Interestingly, Puducherry is also popular as “Riviera of the East.”
Geographically all four different enclaves of Puducherry are located at different parts of the country viz…
1. Puducherry: It is located at the south-east coast of India along the Bay of Bengal. The territory is shares its boundary with Tamil Nadu from three sides and makes small coastline with Bay of Bengal in the east. The territory is spread in about 293 sq. km. Its capital is Pondicherry.
2. Karaikal: Spread in 160 sq. km, it is surrounded by Tamil Nadu from three sides and Bay of Bengal in the east. It is located further south of Puducherrry.
3. Yanam: Spread in merely 30 sq. km, Yanam is located north of Puducherry. It is surrounded by Andhra Pradesh from three sides and makes small coastline with Bay of Bengal in the east.
4. Mahé: Spread in merely 9 sq. km area, Mahe is the smallest one among all four. It is located on the south-west coast of India along the Arabian Sea. Mahe is surrounded by Kerala from three sides and Arabian Sea limits its boundary in the west.

When French people came to Puducherry, they had done various infrastructure work, which divided the city into two sections namely the French Quarter (Ville Blanche or 'White town') and the Indian quarter (Ville Noire or 'Black Town'). Therefore, there are still many street names and houses of French style. However, Indian and French style houses are very much similar. The city has an organization i.e. ‘INTACH’ that preserved city from the destructions.