Map of different formats, colors, sizes, and resolutions of your choice. Call now +91-9999764565. Email us at

State Map of India

State Map of India  
* Map Showing all the States and Union Territories of India

The given

India State Map

illustrates the details about all 29 states and 7 Union Territories of India. For better visibility and readability, the different states of India are filled with various eye-catching colours. All the states are clearly demarcated by the state boundaries and distinct colour of each state separates from neighbour states and illustrates the proper geographical position.

The peninsular India, which is surrounded by water body from three sides; Bay of Bengal lies in the east, Indian Ocean lies in the south, and Arabian Sea lies in the west.

India is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. For the administrative purpose, India is divided into 29 states, 7 Union Territories and 1 National Capital Territory. Among all states, Rajasthan is the largest state by area and Goa is the smallest state of India.

Facts File
Population: 1,10,35,96,000
Capital: New Delhi; 295,000
Area: 3,287,270 square kilometers (1,269,221 square miles)
Area wise in the world 7th
Currency: Indian rupee
Language: Hindi, English, 14 other official languages
Coastline 7516.5 km
Literacy Percent: 60
Religion: Hindu, Muslim, Christian, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi
Life Expectancy: 63
GDP per Capita: U.S. $2,600
Agriculture Wheat, Rice, Oilseed, Cotton, Fish, Cattle
Industry  Cement, Food processing, Steel, Transportation Equipment,Chemicals, Textiles, Mining
Exports Engineering goods, Textile Goods, Chemicals, Leather Manufactures, Gems and Jewelry
India got its independence August 15th, 1947
Rivers The main rivers of the Himalayan group are the Indus, the Ganga and the Brahmaputra.
National Parks 94
Wildlife Sanctuaries 501
Official Languages Hindi
Populationwise place in the world 2nd
Literacy 65.38%
Male Literacy 75.85%
Female Literacy 54.16%
Population growth 21.34%
Telephone Code 91
High Point Kanchenjunga 8,598 m
Coastline Lakshadweep Islands, and the Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

list of states and Union Territories

is given below:
States and their Capitals
State Administrative Capital Legislative Capital Judicial Capital Since
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad, Amaravati Hyderabad Hyderabad 1956
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar Itanagar Guwahati 1972
Assam Dispur (Former Capital: Shilong(1874-1972)) Dispur Guwahati 1972
Bihar Patna Patna Patna 1936
Chhattisgarh Raipur Raipur Bilaspur 2000
Goa Panji Porvorim Mumbai 1961
Gujarat Gandhinagar(Formal Capital: Ahmedabad(1960-1970)) Gandhinagar Ahmedabad 1970
Haryana Chandigarh Chandigarh Chandigarh 1966
Himachal Pradesh Shimla Shimla Shimla 1948
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar(S),Jammu(W) Srinagar(S),Jammu(W) Srinagar 1948
Jharkhand Ranchi Ranchi Ranchi 2000
Karnataka Bangaluru Bangaluru Bangaluru 1956
Kerala Thiruvanantha-Puram (Former Capital: Kochi(1949-1956)) T'puram Ernakulam 1956
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Bhopal Jabalpur 1956
Maharashtra Mumbai Mumbai Mumbai 1818
Manipur Imphal Imphal Guwahati 1947
Meghalaya Shillong Shillong Guwahati 1970
Mizoram Aizwal Aizwal Guwahati 1972
Nagaland Kohima Kohima Guwahati 1963
Orrisa Bhubaneshwar (Former Capital: Cuttak (1936-1948)) Bhubaneshwar Cuttack 1948
Punjab Chandigarh (Former Capital: Lahore(1936-1947) & Shimla(1947-1966)) Chandigarh Chandigarh 1966
Rajasthan Jaipur Jaipur Jodhpur 1948
Sikkim Gangtok Gangtok Gangtok 1975
Tamil Nadu Chennai Chennai Chennai 1956
Telengana Hyderabad, Amaravati Hyderabad Hyderabad 2014
Tripura Agartala Agartala Guwahati 1956
Uttarakhand Dehradun Dehradun Nainital 2000
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Lucknow Allahabad 1937
West Bengal Kolkata Kolkata Kolkata 1905
Union Territories
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair -- Kolkata 1956
Chandigarh Chandigarh -- Chandigarh 1966
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvasaa -- Mumbai 1961
Daman and Diu Daman -- Mumbai 1987
Lakshadweep Kavaratti -- Ernakulam 1956
National Capital Territory of Delhi N.Delhi -- -- --
Ponducherry Ponducherry Ponducherry Chennai 1954